Posted by: zdy1 | 10 November, 2009

Two seasons in a weekend

Being a Brit here means being in a minority and therefore anything British becomes more close to the heart, however it has been difficult to find a day to celebrate true britishness. What traditions does St Georges day have? When on earth is the Queen’s birthday? and despite renaming July 4th “good riddance day”, it wasn’t really an occasion to put together rival celebrations to my cross-atlantic friends. However then I remembered the day where we burn an effigy on a fire, stand outside in the cold and wet and eat random food – perfect!

So this Saturday Evening we celebrated Guy Fawkes night. No Guy (as decided that might not go down too well without some serious, beyond my capabilities, explaining) and without the atmospheric need to be wrapped up in scarves, hats and glove, but complete with bonfire, fireworks (sort of), baked potatos and toffee apples. There were three other Brits to back up that this was true tradition and then the rest of the party was made up of Ugandans, Americans and Kiwis.

BonfireBrits

It was interesting to see what seemed perfectly normal to me, seemed unusual to others. Tuna Mayonnaise and carrot soup seemed to confuse the Americans (or maybe just the weird lot we have here) (that’s a joke by the way guys if you are reading this 🙂 !!), nearly everything was strange to the Ugandans, especially the kids of my friends who had never tasted any British food before. I am hoping the latter weren’t sick afterwards as they got into the toffee apples, baked chocolate bananas and toasted marshmallows.
toffee apples Noel & Pearl

Anyway, it was great fun and hopefully the start of more parties like this at my place, especially as I now have a permanent bonfire spot. However I did find out from my Ugandan friends that having a fire in front of my house implied that I had died, so people may get confused if I die on a regular basis!

To change the tone a bit, Sunday evening was the Christmas Carol service at my church! Its a university church (hence the early celebration) and was a fantastic, well put together service, but singing “we wish you a Merry Christmas” on November 9th, after a hot sunny day, in a room decorated with pink and white balloons certainly befuddled my brain!

Leave a Reply

Categories

