Posted by: zdy1 | 23 April, 2009

The house on the hill

After many weeks of searching, deliberating, praying, a contract has now been signed on a house for me to live in. Nicknamed the house on the hill (to differentiate it from all the others we have been looking at) it is not on a very big hill, more accurately it is nearly the highest point on a long ridge just outside Mbarara in a place called Nkokonjeru but it does have a great view and looks East/West which is not bad considering the beauty of African Dawns and Sunsets (I think I may spend more time appreciating the latter than the former!!)

The house currently needs a bit of work doing on it before I can live there. The urgent issues are securing the ceiling that looks like it may fall down at any moment and putting in a new secure gate to replace the sheets of corregated iron that are there at the moment, but we are also hoping to finish the electricity installation and so I can have a few working plugs and lights. I think putting in hot water and a tank is beyond our budget at the moment but having running water in the house is better than what I had when I lived in Kenya so I am not worried about that. I meet with the landlady tomorrow and I am hoping to move in if all goes well within the next two weeks!

This is the same house that I put a photo of here and I do feel very privileged to be getting this house but after all the deliberation it does feel like it is the right place for me to be.

It is also the house that has the small banana plantation, mainly Matoke (savoury bananas) but a few yellows too – very exciting. After only having a few houseplants to look after for the last 15 years, this is going to be a steep learning curve. But this was one of the deciding factors in the house. If I am going to be working with people who spend a lot of their time working on land, it is going to be good for me to have an understanding of where they are coming from. This all being said, I still intend to be spending the majority of my time being a physiotherapist so I will need to be employing workers too… a whole new world!

For those who are interested… here is a google map of some of the key places for me in Mbarara!

Responses

  1. Let me know the date of your ‘house warming’ party – grilled bananas all round eh? cheers…


Leave a Reply

Categories

